Google Translate for Android Now in 14 Languages – Speech to Speech

Google [GOOG] has released an update for Google Translate that allows Android smartphone users to communicate with people in 14 different languages. The new update works using speech-to-speech in conversation mode where you can select your language and then specify the language of another person. You can then speak and Google translates your text. You can then hit a button and have the other person speak in their language and it then converts it back in to your language so you can think of a reply to speak back.

Current supported languages now include the following (English is set by default):

Brazilian Portuguese, Czech, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Russian and Turkish.

If you speak your text you can correct it manually if Google doesn’t quite translate it correctly. Likewise, the other speaker can also correct their text if needed.

Google Translate is compatible on Android smartphones that are running at least version 2.2 of the OS. Google has also commented that the software is Alpha which means it might run in to a number of problems while in use such as being effected by background noise. Other glitches might also be present.

To understand how it works you can take a look at the video demonstration below:


Speak Your Mind